Audemars Piguet wins the “Aiguille D’Or” Grand Prix

By Olga_Gafurova Monday, 13 November 2023 5:28 PM

Audemars Piguet wins the “Aiguille D’Or” Grand Prix

Add new comment

The 2023 winners of the Grand Prix d'Horlogerie de Genève (GPHG) were unveiled on Thursday 9 November at the Théâtre du Léman in Geneva, at an awards ceremony eagerly awaited by industry stakeholders and watchmaking enthusiasts alike.

Chaired by Nick Foulkes, the 2023 jury and the 847-member GPHG Academy honoured contemporary watchmaking excellence and creativity by awarding 19 prizes, including the prestigious “Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix which went to Audemars Piguet for the Code 11.59 by Audemars Piguet Ultra-Complication Universelle RD#4 watch.

The Special Jury Prize, which rewards an outstanding personality or institution in the watchmaking world, was handed to Svend Andersen and Vincent Calabrese for the creation of the AHCI.

The Bovet 1822, Bulgari, Christopher Ward, Dior Montres, Ferdinand Berthoud, Hautlence, L’Epée 1839, Laurent Ferrier, Maison Alcée, Petermann Bédat, Piaget, Raymond Weil, Simon Brette, Tudor, Ulysse Nardin and Voutilainen brands also received awards from the Jury and the Academy.

Relive the highlights of this 23rd awards ceremony and view all pictures of the event on our official website.

The 90 nominated timepieces, including the winners, are on display at the Musée Rath in Geneva until 12 November. The laureates of this year's competition will also be presented as part of Dubai Watch Week from 15 to 20 November, then at the Kunsthaus in Zurich from 1 to 3 December 2023.


“Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix: Audemars Piguet, Code 11.59 by Audemars Piguet

Ultra-Complication Universelle RD#4

Innovation Prize: Hautlence, Sphere Series 1

Audacity Prize: Maison Alcée, Persée Azur

Chronometry Prize: Ferdinand Berthoud, Chronomètre FB 3SPC

“Horological Revelation” Prize: Simon Brette, Chronomètre Artisans

Ladies’ Watch Prize: Piaget, Hidden Treasures

Ladies’ Complication Watch Prize: Dior Montres, Grand Soir Automate Etoile de Monsieur Dior

Men’s Complication Watch Prize: Voutilainen, World Timer

Iconic Watch Prize: Ulysse Nardin, Freak One     

Tourbillon Watch Prize: Laurent Ferrier, Grand Sport Tourbillon Pursuit

Calendar and Astronomy Watch Prize: Bovet 1822, Récital 20 Astérium

Chronograph Watch Prize: Petermann Bédat, Chronographe rattrapante

Sports Watch Prize: Tudor, Pelagos 39

Jewellery Watch Prize: Bulgari, Serpenti Cleopatra

Artistic Crafts Watch Prize: Piaget, Altiplano Métiers d'Art - Undulata

“Petite Aiguille” Prize: Christopher Ward London, C1 Bel Canto

Challenge Watch Prize: Raymond Weil, Millésime automatic small seconds

Mechanical Clock Prize: L'Epée 1839, Time Fast II Chrome

Special Jury Prize: Svend Andersen and Vincent Calabrese